You’re Enough

D’Andra posing in front of Brenda Stegner’s Christmas tree.

D’Andra invited 14 of her classmates and her teachers and the staff to a holiday open house tonight. At 7:05 pm, it looked like no one was coming. I had baked some sugar cookies to decorate and prepared ingredients to make ornaments.

“I don’t know if anyone is coming sweetheart,” I told D’Andra. I had just given them invitations yesterday so I hardly gave them any notice. “That’s ok mom,” she said looking up while applying frosting to a cookie. “You’re enough.”

I looked at her from across the kitchen and said, “You’re okay if I’m the only one at your party?” She nodded and smiled, “You’re enough.”

I ducked out of the room to cry for a few moments. Hearing “you’re enough” from my daughter was like my parents telling me, “you’re a great daughter.” Just being here was enough for my daughter.

Someone did eventually show up with a gift. One of her classmates, Bradley showed up with colorful box and bow. He was gracious, funny and decorated some cookies with D’Andra.

How many of us can bring that sense of peace and security by telling someone, “you’re enough.” I know I’ve felt that I’ve had to jump through invisible hoops or win that contest or award to gain someone’s approval. For my daughter, I’ve learned that “you’re enough.”

Giving someone your approval lifts a weight off of them. They don’t have to please you. You are pleased just because you enjoy them. Don’t hold back in expressing your love and approval.

I challenge you to tell someone that they are enough. Tell them that you love them right where they are at. Give them the security and peace of your approval.

There is someone else who says, “you’re enough.” God says “you’re enough.” You don’t have to jump through any hoops to get His approval. You may not have read your Bible in days or prayed today and He still says, “you’re enough.” He is not holding a lightning rod over you ready to strike.

Here are some scriptures to remind you that you’re enough.

John 3:16  “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life.

Romans 5:8 but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

Galatians 2:20 I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God. who loved me and gave himself for me.

Ephesians 2:4-5 But God, being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which he loved us, even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ — by grace you have been saved..

1 John 4:9-11 In this the love of God was made manifest among us, that God sent his only Son into the world, so that we might live through him. In this is love, not that we have loved God but that he loved us and sent his Son to be the propitiation for our sins. Beloved, if God so loved us, we also ought to love one another.

Have a wonderful Christmas and may you know His love and peace now!

6 thoughts on “You’re Enough

  1. What a beautiful and touching reminder! The wisdom and love of God that flows from D’ Andra is not only a testament of the anointing on her life but the evidence of what a beautiful family you guys are! You are a gift!

    • Thank you Joy! You have the gift of a beautiful, godly family. May you fully enjoy all that He has given to you in them. Give your parents a hug for me if you see them around Christmas.

      On Wed, Dec 23, 2015 at 8:45 AM, Keeping it Real wrote:

      >

  2. This is outstanding! And for her to reply to you in such a way, means that you have shown her that she’s enough too. Love you my friend, beautiful reminder.

    • Thank you DeAnna! Yes, she is perfectly enough that way she is in her sassy, snarky acceptance and love. I’ve learned so much from her about the love of God.

      On Wed, Dec 23, 2015 at 8:03 AM, Keeping it Real wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

