Faith at Work: When You’re the Misfit

I was hired to help out with copywriting, design and public relations for a university department. I quickly discovered that the position also required computer programming. I had told the hiring committee that I wasn’t a computer programmer although I enjoyed working on computers and troubleshooting technical issues.

This unspoken requirement hurt the department. I learned that computer programming was omitted from the job description because that would have required a higher pay scale for the position which the department couldn’t afford. I had these options when I learned that the position required programming experience:

  1. Learn how to program.
  2. Look for another job.

I eventually left the position to find a more suitable job. When the work in the position makes you a misfit, the job needs to accurately reflect what you were hired to do or something needs to change. God quickly opened the door to a more suitable position.

Leave a Reply

