A Sign From God

I left the Nasvhille area at 3pm and tried to estimate my arrival time in Kansas City based on going 70mph or 85mph. As I drove Interstate 40 West, I realized that regardless of my speed, if I kept driving towards Kansas City, I would get there. If I decided to stop driving, I would never get to my destination.

I spent a week in Nashville visiting friends that I had not seen in over 20 years. They shared with me the highlights of their lives and the battles they fought. We met many years ago in places far from Nashville such as Hawaii and Florida. But that week we had coffee, lunch or dinner at the same table.

keepgoingWhen I started on my road of faith many years ago in Hawaii, those wonderful moments in Nashville were not on my radar. But I realized that as I started on my journey to follow God many years ago, God set people ahead for me. They were signs from God to keep going.

Suzanne was one of my friends that I visited in Nashville. We met over 20 years ago in Gainesville, Florida when we were working for a ministry. She was one of the most down to earth, funniest people that I knew. She still is funny and down-to-earth despite challenges that she had with her health.

Suzanne’s acceptance and humor kept me going when I wanted to quit. Another key person in my life during the Florida season was Katherine. She lives in Lexington, KY but her wisdom and perseverance have been a lifeline to me. Suzanne and Katherine were signs from God to keep going.

I also spent a few days with The Keeler family. We became close when they lived in Kansas City. Their love for God and sense of adventure was refreshing.

I felt like I was driving through a postcard in Lieper's Fork.

I felt like I was driving through a postcard in Lieper’s Fork.

Quitting or living below your passion is so easy. But God will send you people who tell you to keep going, keep dreaming and keep pursuing Him. They are His signs that keep you driving on the long endless road called life.

The speed that you drive doesn’t matter if you stay on the road. You will get to your destination. You will meet your goal. Just stay the course and listen to the people He sends to you along the way. Keep going. Don’t quit.

2 thoughts on “A Sign From God

  1. These are the messages I could hear over and over again. Don’t quit. God is for you, not against you. You were called, you were chosen. You have a great destiny in God. Glad you got to see friends that you can trust, have your best interest in their heart.
    Thanks!

    • Thanks Michelle! I hope to be a sign from God for you. Love your transparency and candor. Keep writing!

      On Tue, Jul 22, 2014 at 10:07 AM, Keeping It Real from Leilani Haywood wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

