When You Need Help

hot-to-ask-for-help-or-introductionsI spent several hours helping one of my kids with a very tedious project. He said he couldn’t believe we spent several hours on this project. From my experience, I said it would take several hours to get the project done.

When we finished the project, I was not tired or upset. I enjoyed helping my son with his project because I got to hang out with him. I enjoyed helping him figure out how to get the project done. And I realized how much God enjoys helping me.

The thought of the Emperor of the Cosmos stooping down to help me is intimidating. But there are so many scriptures about how God is our helper. Just as I enjoyed spending hours trying to figure out with my son how to fix a problem, God enjoys spending time with us trying to figure out the details of a problem.

Most of us have been taught by our culture to be independent when God wants us to be dependent. He wants to be involved in the details of our problems. I’m naturally a person who likes to ask questions when I’m stuck on a problem. Instead of watching 5 hours of YouTube videos or reading a gazillion do-it-yourself articles, I think of one person who is the expert and call them.

If I hit a wall and don’t know anyone that’s an expert, I’ll go through the YouTube tutorials and read the articles. But my first instinct is to call or text an expert. I’ve learned through the years to ask God when I’m stuck.

I’ve asked God to connect me with the right person when I was trying to get a certain job or project. Or for favor with a particular person. I think God likes hearing the details of our problems. You should not be ashamed to ask for help!

But God is my helper. The Lord keeps me alive! – Psalm 54:4

Because you are my helper, I sing for joy in the shadow of your wings. Psalm 63:7

But as for me, I am poor and needy; please hurry to my aid, O God. You are my helper and my savior; O Lord, do not delay. Psalm 70:5

What do you need help with? Call on God if you get stuck. He can send you the right person or give you a hint at the answer. He loves helping you solve your problems.

Leave a Reply

