Why You Should be on Facebook

I’ve heard several people say they were getting off Facebook because of gossip and it was a time waster. I understand where they are coming from but I don’t see Facebook as a time waster or a gossip fest. I see it as a ministry opportunity.

Right now their are people posting how they are feeling or the trials they are going through. For some of them, this is the only way they have to express the challenges they are going through. I would not know about my friend Brady Clark’s battle and death if I was not on Facebook.

One friend has posted that he was having a really bad day. I called him to encourage him. He was very appreciative that I responded to his post.

I posted one time that this was the worst day of my life. I don’t want to say why it was the worst day of my life but one of my friends called me and I really appreciated his call even though I didn’t tell him what was going on. I think just someone acknowledging that they heard me made me feel valued.

I have to use Facebook for business and I try to use it to encourage people, build them up and make them laugh. If it wasn’t for Facebook, I would not have reconnected with friends and family all over the world. When people say get off Facebook, it’s discouraging because I think it is a great vehicle to reach people. Plus it makes me feel like I’m less of a Christian because I’m on Facebook.

Why should you be on Facebook? Because people are on Facebook. If you want to reach people, then get on Facebook.

2 thoughts on “Why You Should be on Facebook

Leave a Reply

