Christmas Carols for the Homeless Teaches Me a Lesson From God

On Thanksgiving Day I came up with an idea to set up a Christmas caroling concert at City Union Mission with D’Lynn Watts, director of Highways Ministries featuring Rylie Brown, a former contestant on X Factor who made it to the top 10. The next day I sent am email through City Union Mission’s web site because I had no idea who to contact. On Monday I got a call from Dan who manages the Family Shelter at City Union Mission.

Rylie Brown (center) is the star of the Christmas carols concert. My son Alex is on the left and Maddie Watts is on the right.

Rylie Brown (center) is the star of the Christmas carols concert. My son Alex is on the left and Maddie Watts is on the right.

D’Lynn met with the City Union Mission Team on December 9th. We had 9 business days to promote and prepare for the Christmas caroling concert. Rylie, Maddie Watts, Hudson Watts and my son Alex rehearsed during every spare minute. The teenagers and children loved Rylie.

In the meantime, D’Lynn bought the gifts and I booked a Santa and promoted the event. Fox 4 News Eric Burke had been following Rylie’s career so he did a feature story on the concert. Dan and Yolanda Cervantes graciously donated a Santa appearance. They were a huge hit with the adults and kids. City Union Mission wants to do this again next year.

I was amazed at how fast and efficient everything moved and realized that when you do something God likes, He backs it up. Personally, I believe God moves faster than we do. For 2014, my resolution is simple. To make myself more available to pushing ideas from God.

What are some ideas you have that you want to push in 2014?

2 thoughts on “Christmas Carols for the Homeless Teaches Me a Lesson From God

Leave a Reply

