Leadership Focus: Dr. George Wood

Dr. George Wood, General Superintendent of the Assemblies of God

Dr. George Wood was recently re-elected General Superintendent of the Assemblies of God denomination. The denomination represents 65 million Christians worldwide and is aggressively reaching out to minorities — particularly Hispanics — as well as those under the age of 25. At 71-years-old, Dr. Wood is committed to expanding the ministry’s reach in the digital age.

Charisma recently featured Dr. Wood in their August issue. I would recommend reading that article because it goes over how Dr. Wood grew up in Communist China and narrowly escaped the communists when he was a child.

Charisma is headquartered in Orlando and the Assemblies of God held it’s General Council meeting in Orlando. The meeting had over 25,000 attendees. Steve Strang, publisher of Charisma, attended the General Council meeting since it was being held in his hometown. Here’s his article about the meeting.

My mom, Aloha, became a Christian at an Assembly of God Church in Hilo, HI. She also got married in that church. My husband, Jerome and I met Dr. Wood at a meeting. He was very unassuming and friendly. Below is a Q&A that I published in a newsletter featuring Dr. Wood. I think it is a timely read and hope to give a snapshot of Dr. Wood.

Favorite scripture:  I really don’t have one.  Whatever Scripture I’m in at the moment is the one I like best – sort of like when people asked me what my favorite place is in Israel.  I respond, “Where I’m at now.”

One piece of advice you would give to someone who wants to go into the ministry:  Lay strong foundations that can bear the weight the Lord will later place on you.  Get a solid education.

First job:  Paperboy

What are you reading right now?  Just finished Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor’s biography, “My Beloved World.”

Favorite author:  C. S. Lewis

Leave a Reply

