The Currency in Your Mouth

“In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. Now the earth was formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was hovering over the waters. And God said, ‘Let there be light,’ and there was light.” Genesis 1: 1-3

Those 3 words, ‘And God said…’ have always astonished me.

The first act of creation was done with words. God spoke and light, the heavens, the earth and seas came forth. Words created the world we live in.

I tell my kids that I make my living by words. And I always point out when they are watching a movie or playing a game on the Xbox or Wii that there had to be words first before the movie could be filmed or the game created. “All this came out of someone’s head,” I’ve told them over and over again.

I guess as a writer, which is a very solitary profession, you realize the value of the words you write and the words you say. Words create worlds. Words create life. Words help me pay my mortgage.

My kids think I’m a geek because I try to break down what the person was thinking when they created the film, wrote the book or the script to the game. What was their worldview? What are they trying to say or tell me?

With this little exercise, I’m trying to train them to think through the philosophy and the worldview of what is being pushed on them through ads, movies and games. They are the most media-saturated generation on the planet, and I believe discernment and truth are desperately needed to identify the voice and the agenda behind the influencer.

I want them to learn that words are valuable currency in the kingdom of God. God creates with words. He changes history by words. And He identifies Himself as The Word.

“In the beginning was the Word and the Word was with God and the Word was God.” John 1:1

The Word is a marvelous, divine being who rules everything He spoke into being. Having words, speaking words and expressing words is a godlike act. That’s why words are a treasure in the kingdom of God. He calls Himself, The Word.

I recently had a talk with my son about the value of his words and his actions. He rolled his eyes, sighed and said “Okay mom.” “Don’t be flippant with your words or actions,” I lectured him. “I’ve been flippant for most of my life and God has had to work that out of me because He is not flippant. He is careful and acts as a craftsman that is creating something for eternity.” Well I didn’t say that last part but it sounds really good now and I wish I would have said that.

God is doing amazing things in my son’s life. I see a leader and an influencer in the making. I see a young man that will be able to change the world with words.

And I want to give him a shortcut by not repeating the mistakes I’ve made with words spoken flippantly, with criticism, judgement that have hurt other people and caused pain. I wish I could download into him the many years of experience so he can step on my shoulders and fly.

I bet that’s what God would love for us to do…to step onto the threshold of His kingdom and fly. That we would emulate Him by creating goodness, kindness, love, joy and hope with our words. Not scar friends and family with words that hurt, bring pain and despair.

When we speak, when we express, when we create, we are like Him. Go be like Him and speak and create life with your words. You have irreplaceable currency in your mouth. Use it!

2 thoughts on “The Currency in Your Mouth

Leave a Reply

