When Losers Win

She screamed. She cried. She pulled her glasses off while tears streamed down her face. She won. I lost.

I lost the war to get her dressed. I lost the war to get her to brush her teeth. I lost the war to get her on the bus.

Every morning I wake up to a war that I win or lose depending on if I have the strength to put up with the screaming, crying and resistance. This morning I just didn’t have it. I was exhausted from being up late working on a deadline.

I decided to take a day off from winning this morning war. I wanted to take a day off from being a mom of a daughter with Down syndrome but that would put me in crazy land. Instead I let her win.

I picked up the phone and called my husband. “I’ll be right there,” he said. He heard the weariness from fighting with my daughter for 90 minutes. She looked up at me when I said, “Dad is on the way.”

I think of how my husband responding is a lot like God’s grace. We run out of strength. We lose the battle of life and with our backs against the wall, we call on Him.

My pastor, Steve Gray, is doing a master-classic series on Grace that should be in a book. The book will be read for hundreds of years to come because of such wisdom. He shares how grace is the power for the unable to be able, the power to go, the power to be and the power to do.

I love this definition of grace because when we lose, we win. We win when we fall into His grace. We win when we lose to Him.

There has been a lot of bad teaching about how grace is a cover up for sin. I don’t think the Christians in the first-century church facing death considered grace a cover up to sleep around or do whatever is sinful in their time. Grace for them was the power to face a tyrant. The power to lose to an oppressor by dying for the cause.

The teaching that grace covers weakness is a misinterpretation of 2 Corinthians 12:9 But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.”

Take this scripture in context, and this is meant to be an encouragement to Christians facing a death warrant. They are not looking for a license to do their own thing. They need the power of God to stand up to persecution.

While I’m not facing persecution, those moments when I can’t deal with the war of getting my daughter to school, I know my husband will step in. Those moments that Jerome intervenes is a picture of God stepping in.

I thank God for the people that God sends us who help us go on with the grace of God. Paul’s words to the Corinthian church empowered them go on with the grace of God. When we lose, we win by God’s grace.

Leave a Reply

