God restores a son to his mother

Deuteronomy 28:32 Your sons and daughters will be given to another nation, and you will wear out your eyes watching for them day after day, powerless to lift a hand. 33 A people that you do not know will eat what your land and labor produce, and you will have nothing but cruel oppression all your days. 34 The sights you see will drive you mad.

I was very confused many years ago when I got divorced.  I did not understand how separation could become so bitter and children could be caught in-between. There I was, standing outside my lawyer’s office, confused and angry. I had lost custody of my son without even the ability to defend myself or speak up about it. I had paid and paid and I was a mother grieving. The sight of the children’s department in a store sent me into tears.

As the years passed, I sensed the Lord calling me to return to him. I had made a vow to him in my childhood and had left church before coming of age. I liked God, but I didn’t really know him and I didn’t like church at all. Now, as an adult, I knew somehow that turning to him with all my heart was going to bring it all back, everything I ached for.

Then, one day, after searching the globe for Him, I heard a friend flippantly mention the joy of the Lord. I went home and I jumped on my bed and I cried out, “God, I don’t feel your joy! I don’t think I ever have. I need that!”

A week later, I was invited to watch World Revival Church (WRC) services at a friend’s house. “Sure, I’ll watch the sermon,” I thought. It was on Israel. I wasn’t sure what to make of the singing or the service but I knew beyond a shadow of a doubt that the preaching I was hearing was true.

I watched services online for several months and then moved to Kansas City to join WRC. I wanted change, but it wasn’t until attending the school of ministry that my eyes were truly opened and my ears were cleared. I had not realized that the constant separating and splitting of my family was a symptom of a broken covenant. I just knew that whenever my cousins would move away or someone would stop talking to someone, my heart would break a little more. I knew that unjust bills were not supposed to wrap you in chains, but I did not have the power to do anything about it.

James and Darcy reunited!

Slowly but surely, I began to plant seeds that came from the teaching in this place the Lord brought me. I began to tithe for the first time in my life. I began to cry out for my family and my son. I began to hear the promise of the Lord for them and I began to see Him renewing His covenant with us.

I have been at WRC for 2.5 years and I just returned from a family reunion. A reunion in which my son attended with me,  My family gathered for the occasion. What an amazing God we serve. Every time I prayed for a family member, tears streamed down their faces as His presence was obvious. Their hearts were captured by Him as they told stories of the things He has been doing in their lives recently. Most of all, they wanted more of Him. They put aside festivities on the 4th and held a family Bible study instead.

I wish I could say that I came chasing God, but really, I had just lost all I had ever wanted. Once I found out who God was, I was completely smitten and I never again wanted to be separated from Him. I thank WRC for giving me access to the presence of God, for walking in covenant, and for the fruit of their ministry that they so freely share. — by Darcy Lagana

Leave a Reply

