Breaking Barriers

When 2010 started, I didn’t plan to lose a major contract and bump up my side business to become my full-time gig. I didn’t foresee my 16-year-old son, Chris, driving or my 8-year-old daughter, D’Andra, forgetting that she has special needs or a disability, grabbing a sled, jumping on it and sliding down a steep hill. I didn’t foresee my 12-year-old son, Alex, getting a text through Chris from a group of girls wanting to know which one did he like. I also didn’t foresee my 16-year-old niece, Erin, who lives with us, getting her first job.

People change, contracts end, and stuff comes at you that you didn’t expect. My business has created friendships with incredible, smart entrepreneurs that I wouldn’t have met if I didn’t step out. I started doing presentations regularly in 2010 and realized how much I enjoy public speaking. I broke my own barriers to my fear of starting a business and selling – which has cost me – and public speaking.

For 2011, I look forward to making more friends, writing and presenting more and seeing amazing changes in my kids. This time next year, Chris and Erin will probably have their driver’s license. Alex will tower over me and will have a couple performance gigs under his belt. He’s already 5″7! D’Andra, I’m sure, will surprise me most of all as she continues to break barriers and expectations put on kids with special needs.

What barriers and expectations will you break? What are you looking forward to?

Leave a Reply

